Why I Think Reiki Is Bullshit

So, all the brou-ha-ha with the M Center and Mary Elizabeth’s totally unprofessional shenanigans that occurred inspired me to write a post on why I think Reiki is complete bullshit.

I’ve never known what the hell Reiki actually was until all of this bullshit with the M Center started and I looked it up out of sheer curiosity. I had a vague notion of what it entailed, but not to be mean, it seemed kind of “fluffy” to me.

So I poked around the Internet and I’m just baffled by it. I know the M Center charges like, $120 for a Reiki session and I honestly don’t fuckin’ get it.

First off, it seems WAY too much “love and light” for me. Maybe that works for some people, I don’t know, but I’m Kemetic for fuck’s sake. I’m all about balance and focusing too much on one thing seems like an excellent way to fuck up said personal balance.

Second, why the hell are people paying so much for something a talented Witch or natural energy worker could do sans mumbo-jumbo?

Maybe it’s because I’m clairsentient and I’ve been able to sense/manipulate energy since I was a kid I’m spoiled, but I’m just confused as to why people would pay out the fucking nose for something a) I’ve been doing since I was a child and b) could do for free.

I mean, I guess if you’re going to offer Witchy services like energy healing, divination, etc you should charge something, but $120 is ridiculous unless you’re traveling to Timbuktu. I can see $40-$60 depending on if you have to travel far, but no more or no less than that.

Third, I wouldn’t let any random person fuck around with my energy. I don’t give a flying fuck if you think it cures all is, I don’t want anyone messing around with my energy, wards, or shields. You don’t know if they know what they’re doing or if their “Reiki teacher” was legitimate or a bullshit artist.

So while I do believe that energy healing in general can be an excellent tool, I don’t think you need to spend a shit ton of money on “Reiki healing” or “classes to become a Reiki master.” To me, that’s just a scam, especially since if you’re naturally talented, you can learn to do all of that yourself.

Plus, maybe not everyone’s cut out to be an energy worker, just like not everyone has a “God Phone” or gets premonitions. There’s nothing wrong with that, either.

So yea, that’s just what’s been kicking around in my brain over the past week or so. Anyone agree or disagree out there?

 

 

About The She Wolf

Amanda: Belly dancer. Feminist. Writer. Geek. Book nerd. Pagan.
This entry was posted in Paganism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Why I Think Reiki Is Bullshit

  1. Namaste,I am Empathic(3rd.generation) Healer (4th generation) and I too have been manipulating energy as well,but I took a Reiki master class and my teacher is annioted,I even saw the symbols for Reiki b4 I took the class,but I felt it wasn’t as strong as my energy is,and then I did the worst thing possible I started to believe I wasn’t in control anymore my shadow self got loss in the process,and now I have to go back and redo my belief system is out of wack,and I used to charge $60 per hour,and economic has gone up,so not trying to keep up with the Jones,but still live…

Leave a comment