What To Give To The Gods [KRT Post]

Offerings 101: What do I offer the gods? How do I determine what to offer? Can I offer without a patron? Do I need to revert my offerings? How do I do that? What if I can’t?

I tend to offer whatever I have, food-wise, to the Gods. I’m struggling to find a full-time job and I don’t have a lot of money to make expensive offerings, so I use what I have.

For example, let’s say that I’m getting Mediterranean one night, I’ll offer my dinner to Them or if I have those chocolate-covered pomegranates on hand, I’ll put ’em in a cup and give it to my Gods. Hell, I’ve even offered my breakfast usual (bagel with peanut butter and a cup of coffee) a few times and no one has ever seemed to mind.

If I’m offering food, I usually wait and visualize my Gods eating the item and when They give the okay, then I eat as well. Ditto goes for drinks.

Most of the time though, I will offer belly dance and poetry to my Gods. I’ve dedicated my belly dance classes to Bast, and I’ve performed poetry in the name of my Gods as well.

I also offer up my time and energy to volunteering at a local animal adoption event to my Gods as well, and They seem pretty pleased with that. Hell, it’s how I came home with my Familiar, a German Shepherd/Beagle/Doberman mix puppy named Zoe.

As for how to determine what to offer to the Gods, TheTwistedRope has an excellent offering guide that you can check out and when you feel comfortable enough chatting with your deities, you can always ask Them what They’d like, although I’d explain what you can and cannot afford, just in case.

You also don’t need a patron God or Goddess to make offerings, either. Some people just make offerings to all of the Netjeru, although I didn’t go that route because Bast and Anpu claimed me early on in my path.

If you’d like to see some examples of my dance offerings, I’ll link you to a few of my belly dance videos:

The Time Is Now

Siseler

Pacific Rim

The Sword Dance

Sahra Saidi

So really, offerings can be anything–food, drink, poetry, volunteering, etc. You can go traditional or modern, but either way, I’m sure the Gods will be happy that you are thinking of Them.

Hope that helps!

About The She Wolf

Amanda: Belly dancer. Feminist. Writer. Geek. Book nerd. Pagan.
This entry was posted in Kemetic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What To Give To The Gods [KRT Post]

  1. psbey says:

    Reblogged this on Lokeans! .

  2. Pingback: Offering Basics | Kemetic Round Table

Leave a Reply

